slider slider slider slider slider slider slider slider slider slider slider slider slider

Welcome to Faculty of Agriculture

The Faculty of Agriculture was established in 1961 with an aim to produce quality agriculture graduates. The Faculty has 16 departments: Agronomy, Soil Science, Entomology, Horticulture, Plant Pathology, Crop Botany, Genetics & Plant Breeding, Agricultural Extension Education, Agricultural Chemistry, Biochemistry & Molecular Biology, Language, Agroforestry, Biotechnology, Environmental Science, Seed Science & Technology and Physics. The Faculty offers B.Sc. Ag. (Hons.) degree. All the departments (except Language and Physics departments) offer MS and PhD degrees. The course-curricula cover all possible modern and demand driven areas of crop production. 

The Faculty of Agriculture has made high academic achievements. The Faculty has so far produced 12,989 graduates, 8049 Masters and 296 PhDs. They are serving many private and Govt. sectors with high appreciation. The faculty has highly qualified, trained and skilled teachers who are committed to their duties and responsibilities, with high integrity.

The Faculty of Agriculture has significant research achievements in both basic and applied fields. This Faculty has a number of well-equipped modern laboratories. A good number of technologies have been developed over the last 53 years. The Faculty has established good linkages with many institutes and universities at home and abroad through collaborative research program. Many research projects funded by national and international agencies are being carried out in this faculty.

Future vision of the Faculty of Agriculture is to produce more creative, motivated and field oriented crop agriculture graduates in order to counter the challenges of changing country's as well as global needs and ensure food and nutrition security.

The faculty of Agriculture has the following academic departments:

  1. Department of Agronomy
  2. Department of Soil Science
  3. Department of Entomology
  4. Department of Horticulture
  5. Department of Plant Pathology
  6. Department of Crop Botany
  7. Department of Genetics & Plant Breeding
  8. Department of Agricultural Extension Education
  9. Department of Agricultural Chemistry
  10. Department of Biochemistry & Molecular Biology
  11. Department of Languages
  12. Department of Agroforestry
  13. Department of Biotechnology
  14. Department of Environmental Science
  15. Department of Seed Science and Technology
  16. Department of Physics
  17. Department of Agrometeorology

Currently the faculty of Agriculture is offering the following degree programs:

  • B. Sc. Ag. (Hons)
  • M.S.
  • Ph.D.


Dr. Md. Azizul  Haque
Dr. Md. Azizul Haque



View Profile


Photo Gallery